Quick Answer: What Are The 13 Caribbean Countries?

How many countries are in the Caribbean?

15CaribbeanArea2,754,000 km2 (1,063,000 sq mi)Countriesshow 15Dependenciesshow 18LanguagesEnglish, French, Caribbean Spanish, Dutch, French Creoles, English Creoles, Dutch Creoles, Papiamento, Caribbean Hindustani, Chinese, among othersTime zonesUTC−5 to UTC−410 more rows.

What race is Caribbean?

As a general rule, one can state that the Caribbean culture is predominantly a mixture of Afro European, namely African and Spanish, English, French, Dutch, Portuguese. As a result, the new cultural formations are rich and new cultural hybrid forms, in which the origins of various elements are clearly recognizable.

Are Jamaicans from Ghana?

For instance, many of the ancestors of present-day Jamaicans, like the Maroons, came from Africa. … Jamaican planters used the term Koromanti was to refer to slaves purchased from the Akan region of West Africa, presently known as Ghana.

Which Caribbean country is not independent?

Currently, Montserrat, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, and the Turks and Caicos Islands remained crown colonies with limited internal self-government.

Is Trinidadian black?

The island of Trinidad is mainly multiracial while the population of Tobago is primarily what is considered Afro-Tobagonian, which is synonymous with Afro-Trinidadian, with the exception that the people of Tobago are almost exclusively of direct African ancestry.

Which Caribbean country gained independence first?

HaitiThe first Caribbean country to gain its independence was Haiti in 1804, and it was followed by the Dominican Republic in 1844 and Cuba in 1902.

What are the 13 independent Caribbean countries?

The following former British Caribbean island colonies achieved independence in their own right; Jamaica (1962), Trinidad & Tobago (1962), Barbados (1966), Bahamas (1973), Grenada (1974), Dominica (1978), St. Lucia (1979), St. Vincent (1979), Antigua & Barbuda (1981), St. Kitts & Nevis (1983).

What are the 26 Caribbean countries?

How Many Of The 26 Caribbean Countries Have You Heard Of?Anguilla.Antigua and Barbuda – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*Aruba.The Bahamas.Barbados – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*British Virgin Islands.Cayman Islands – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*Cuba – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*More items…•Apr 22, 2016

Which Caribbean country is the richest?

Trinidad and TobagoThe economy of Trinidad and Tobago is the wealthiest in the Caribbean and the third-richest by GDP (PPP) per capita in the Americas.

What countries are in Caribbean?

The World Bank in the CaribbeanAruba.Bahamas.Barbados.Belize.Cayman Islands (U.K.)Curaçao (Netherlands)Dominican Republic.Guyana.More items…

Is Guyana a Caribbean country?

Guyana, country located in the northeastern corner of South America. … Some geographers classify Guyana as a part of the Caribbean region, which they deem to include the West Indies as well as Guyana, Belize, Suriname, and French Guiana on the South American mainland. The capital and chief port of Guyana is Georgetown.

What is the most developed Caribbean island?

In addition to being the wealthiest country in the Caribbean region, the twin-island nation of Trinidad and Tobago has one of the highest per capita Gross Domestic Products (GDP) in the entire Western Hemisphere, coming third after the United States and Canada.

Who rules Caribbean islands?

The territories are now fully independent sovereign states, except for five – Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Montserrat, and the Turks and Caicos Islands – which remain British Overseas Territories, as does Bermuda.

How many Caribbean islands are there?

7,000The Caribbean archipelago encompasses more than 7,000 individual islands in a region of approximately 1 million square miles. There are 13 sovereign island nations and 12 dependent territories, with close political ties throughout the region to Europe and the United States.

What is the largest Caribbean country?

CubaCuba is the largest island country in the Caribbean sea, with a total area of almost 111 thousand square kilometers, followed by the Dominican Republic, with nearly 49 thousand square kilometers.

Where is Jamaica located?

North AmericaJamaica/Continent

Are Caribbean people Indian?

By some estimates, over 2.5 million people in the Caribbean are of Indian origin. Many have ethnically blended with migrants from other parts of the world, creating a unique syncretic culture. … The Caribbean colonies of the Netherlands too benefitted from the indentured laborers from India.

Which Caribbean islands are English?

English (official language of Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Puerto Rico (The American territory does not have a substantial anglophone population despite being part of the US), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, …